exile in kidville


CD 21
May 8, 2009, 7:01 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

this is my first cycle using the fertility monitor graciously passed down to me by Mrs. Spock.  i have to tell you, it's driving me crazy.  today is CD 21 and i'm on my 5th day of "high fertility."  i was thrilled to see high at all, but am wondering about the reliability of this gadget.  fertility fiend is assuming that i ovulated on CD 19 (as apparently i always did in my FF charting days.  who knew?) even though i've yet to receive a peak reading from the monitor.  i'm not charting temperature as it's too difficult with a babe who needs to nurse as soon as he wakes in the morning, so i'm relying solely on the monitor. 

so i ask you — have you ever used this monitor?  if so, how did you find it?  i've always had long, irregularish cycles (avg. 33 days).  do you think the monitor is just getting to know me?  or is it always this frustrating?

xomegan

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I used the CBFM. I found it to be frustrating to no end like you :) I always got high fertility readings, I only once got a low in months of using it. I wound up passing it on to others since I started clomid and couldn’t use it with that. That friend also had lots of high readings (with long irregular cycles like 38 days). She got pregnant month 1. Good Luck!

Comment by Erin

Here from L&F. It does take 2-3 cycles for the monitor to really sync up with your body. It takes some patience, but eventually it works.

Comment by Soapchick

Also here from L&F. I too used the CBFM and it did take one cycle to ‘get’ me, like Soapchick says.
Not to toot any horns, but I did actually get pregnant my second month using it. That ‘baby’ is now almost 4. When we decided it was time throw our hat in the ring and try for #2, I used the monitor and got pg first time using it. That baby is almost 2 1/2.
So I am a firm believer in the CBFM :) I lurve mine for it helped me, especially after almost 5-years of REs, bloodwork, lap surgery, pokings, proddings, IUIs, miscarriage, etc.
Good luck–hope the monitor works some magic for you like it did me :)

Comment by Dee

I’ve never ever gotten a positive ovulation result, not using sticks or a saliva microscope, but I seem to ovulate nearly every month. i wonder if the fancy monitor would “get” me. This reminds me, I forgot to start temping this month. Crap.

Comment by Furrow

I found that the “high” days coincided with my EWCM and BBT charts. Of course, it never worked for me, but we’re “unexplained.”

Comment by Mrs Spock

Here from L&F. I used the monitor but since I never ovulated it never detected an ovulation. I also got the monitor as a hand-me-down and it definitely takes some time to sync to your hormone levels so I wouldn’t be worried about one month of a string of “high” readings. Also – it’s possible to register a high because your body psychs up for ovulation but then never get the coveted “peak” because you don’t actually ovulate (that’s what happened to me). I found the machine frustrating for sure but only because it highlighted the underlying problem and I didn’t want to believe I had a true IF issue. Best of luck.

Comment by Sona

My first cycle with the monitor was a bit wonky. It gave me a high for many days in a row and I don’t think it ever gave me a peak. It’s like the dumb thing has to learn you or something. Good luck with it.

Comment by Michell

I’ve not used it, the way my cycles are it’d cost a bomb and they’d all be positive anyway :)

Comment by Geohde




Leave a Reply

