exile in kidville


OB follow-up approaches….
July 4, 2007, 2:31 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

hello o smart ladies (and gents?) of the internets.  i plead with you for some wisdom. 

my follow-up appointment post D&C is coming up this Friday (the 6th) afternoon.  i like going into dr. offices prepared with appropriate questions and such, but i just can’t really come up with any for this one.  mostly because i’m tired.  literally and otherwise.  also?  lazy.  so tell me…what do i really need to know post D&C?  questions to ask?  tests to ask for? 

i’m really dreading this. 

possible good news is that i’ve started to get all spotty….knowing my stupid, broken body i will spot for weeks on end.  keep your fingers crossed for some serious flo(w).

so yes, that’s two things i’m asking for.  wisdom (assvice also welcome) and crossed fingers.  is that too much?

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

No ass-vice here but will definitely keep my fingers crossed that the spotting will turn into something more.

Comment by Merideth

I don’t know how long it’s been since your D&C, but finding out if your hcg has hit zero (which should be about the time your period starts).
That’s all I can think of – I don’t think there is too much they do.

Comment by tipsymarie

When I had my follow up I really couldn’t think of any questions either. I just had to work hard not to cry.
HUGS!

Comment by Sunny

One set of crossed fingers coming right up. And crossed toes. Do you want crossed toes? I can do crossed toes…
I don’t know what to say about asking. I think I’d want to know all sorts of control-freaky things about my hcg, next period (when? and will it be heavier? or lighter? And which of these should make me worry?). I’d also want to know about any genetic testing they did, probably in extreme detail (did I mention being a control freak?). But I am aware that finding things out can be very upsetting too. Give yourself permission to cry. Crying doesn’t mean you can’t listen or don’t want to hear things – it means you are sad.
Hugs from me too.

Comment by May

I’ve got my fingers crossed for you.

Comment by ultimatejourney

Unfortunately, I don’t have any helpful assvice for you…I didn’t have a post miscarriage meeting with the doc. (nice, huh?) I hope the meeting does go well, though, and that the spotting gives way to full AF…

Comment by Sticky Bun

Megan, I usually just try hard not to cry in those meetings. But, for what it is worth, I would ask:
1) Did they conduct any genetics testing on the embryo?
2) Was there anything in my bloodwork that might suggest a problem. Were all levels normal? Were there any levels that might have been borderline high or low?
3) Did you test my progesterone level and, if so, what was the number and where should it have been.
4) Clearly outline how long it took you to get pg this time. Ask about next steps. Can you get a referral to an RE if you are not pg again in X months?
I truly hope your appt goes well as can be. Be strong.

Comment by Ms. Planner

I don’t have any advice, but I hope you get something useful out of your appointment. I’ll be thinking of you today.

Comment by furrow

No assvice here, either.
But I have tagged you for the haiku meme ;)
http://projgen.blogspot.com/2007/07/infertility-haiku.html
Hope your appointment goes well today!

Comment by projgen




Leave a Reply

